Announcements
Curious about the JobMaker Hiring Credit? Have a read about who is eligible and how to register.

ATO Community

BAS reporting for sole trader business participant with zero employees

Initiate

Views 4629

Replies 7

I am a sole trader with zero employees and receive JobKeeper  as an "eligible business participant".

Is this payment to be reported on my BAS or only on my annual tax return as a government payment?

I have read many threads on here about BAS reporting and JobKeeper.  Some say include it at G1 on the BAS. Others say no, just include it on your annual tax return.

The ATO website says nothing about it.

Can the ATO provide an official response? Sole trader JobKeeper with zero employees - on the BAS or not?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Most helpful response

Community Support

Replies 5

Hi @JS-99 

Our website confirms that all JobKeeper payments are assessable income, as a sole trader they will need to be including on your personal income tax return. The JobKeeper payment is not required to be reported on your activity statement.

Good luck with everything.

7 REPLIES 7

Champion

Replies 0

Sole traders and other entities may be eligible to receive the JobKeeper Payment if their turnover has reduced due to coronavirus. Following registration by the eligible business, the Government will provide $1500 per fortnight per eligible employee until 27 September 2020.

Most helpful response

Community Support

Replies 5

Hi @JS-99 

Our website confirms that all JobKeeper payments are assessable income, as a sole trader they will need to be including on your personal income tax return. The JobKeeper payment is not required to be reported on your activity statement.

Good luck with everything.

Initiate

Replies 4

Hi @SueATO ,

Accordintg to @RoB7 (ATO), "JobKeeper payments are included as business income on the BAS".

Can the ATO decide whether JobKeeper payments go on the BAS or not?

Initiate

Replies 3