Announcements
Looking for information on the JobKeeper extension? Check out our answers to common questions the community has been asking.

ATO Community

Becoming ineligible for JobKeeper as a sole trader

Highlighted

Views 2415

Replies 7

I have a question regarding ongoing eligibility for Jobkeeper as a Sole Trader, I keep seeing conflicting information in different guides.

In the JobKeeper guide for Sole Traders it says:

"Each month, you must reconfirm the eligibility if your business and your reported eligible employees.

You must also provide information as to your current and projected GST turnover. This is not a retest of your eligibility, but rather an indication of how your business is progressing under the JobKeeper Payment scheme"

https://www.ato.gov.au/general/jobkeeper-payment/In-detail/JobKeeper-guide---sole-traders/#Step3Make...

This quote seems to say you need to state your eligibilty each month, but then that you do not need to prove your eligibility. Other guides do not include the part saying you need to reconfirm your eligibilty at all.

Does this mean you only need to be eligible once at the start of JobKeeper? Or that you will need to confirm you have a drop in income of 30% every month to recieve ongoing payments? If you do become ineligible one month because you manage to score a small gig and you have lumpy income, can you become eligible the following month when your income drops again?

For instance if you're a builder and get paid $10,000 in March last year to build a deck on someone's house and $0 March this year obviously you will be eligible, but April 19 you make $0 while you're doing the building, and this year in April you manage to get a job for $200 fixing someone's gutter, how do you account for this? The guides and information seem to only account for traders and businesses with very regular income.

Cheers,

Nick

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Most helpful response

Master

Replies 1