Announcements
Looking for information on the JobKeeper extension? Watch the video in our latest news article.

ATO Community

Re: Business restructure alternative test - Jobkeeper 2.0

Highlighted

I'm new

Views 176

Replies 5

Is there any definition of what constitutes a business restructure for the alternative test for the Jobkeeper extension?

I'm a sole trader and last year was operating my business part time while also working part time. In January, I left my job so I could work full time on the business, which I have been doing since then. Would this be a business restructure for the purposes of the alternative tests for the jobkeeper extension?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Most helpful response

Devotee

Replies 0

Hi @lucyq,

There is no guidance that I am aware of so your guess is probably as good as mine.

For me, a restructure would be more than you choosing to work more hours, it would cover things like moving the business into different industry, changing the way the fundamentals of the business operate, etc.

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted

Most helpful response

Devotee

Replies 0

Hi @lucyq,

There is no guidance that I am aware of so your guess is probably as good as mine.

For me, a restructure would be more than you choosing to work more hours, it would cover things like moving the business into different industry, changing the way the fundamentals of the business operate, etc.

Highlighted

Initiate

Replies 1

I am interested in this question as well - exactly what constitutes a restructure?

I have a company that previously only had a Director working in the business in September 2019 and they subsequently employed an additional full time staff member in January 2020.