Announcements
If you haven't been able to get your JobKeeper enrolment in, no need to worry. You can call us until 5 June and we can help you get it submitted.

ATO Community

Departing Australia Superannuation Payment

Highlighted

Views 271

Replies 4

Hi, I have a couple of questions w.r.t superannuation and Departing Australia Superannuation Payment (DASP). Would be really great, if someone can help me with answers for these.

#1) I was a temporary resident (457 and TSS 482 visas) for >4 years and I recently left Australia. Is there any way I can retain my Superannuation account until my preservation age (60 years or so) without ATO closing this account and moving the funds to ATO? I would really like to retain this retirement option instead of losing a lumpsum over early withdrawal penalty and tax, if the rules allow me to do so.

#2) If the above is not possible, i.e If temporary residents cannot retain a super account after leaving Australia, how is the transfer to ATO done? What date will this transaction occur? How will ATO decide on a date? Will I get to decide the date of transfer?

Reason: As superannuation returns change every day, especially with the recent drop in returns due to the worldwide COVID19 situation, I will be at a "huge loss" if ATO decides on a random date.

Note: My visa is still active and I am a few months from the visa expiry date. I left Australia 7 months back.

Thanks a lot for your time!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Best answer

Community Manager

Replies 3

Hi @arunkumaars

Thanks for your post.

If we determine that it has been six months or more since you left Australia, your temporary visa has ceased to be in effect and you haven't claimed your DASP, your super fund is required to transfer your super to us as unclaimed super money.

For more information about the departing Australia superannuation payment (DASP) and when super funds are required to transfer your super to us, refer to our website.