Announcements
Looking for answers? Search our popular topics or ask a new question.

ATO Community

Job Keeper - Sole Trader - Response from ATO saying ineligible

Highlighted

Enthusiast

Views 2143

Replies 43

I am a sole trader and commenced business in January 2020. Due to COVID- 19, the amount of work I did reduce to nearly 30% of what I used to do in the months of Jan, Feb & March. Based on this, I applied the alternative turnover test and applied for job keeper and received for the month of April. When I declared for the month of May, my application was reviewed.

I  received an email from ATO saying that I am ineligible as I don't have a comparison period in 2019. Hence I submitted an application objecting the outcome asking for a review with all my income details thus far. And also didn't receive a call from the ATO asking me for any information before providing this outcome

When I called the ATO today, they advised that I am ineligible for it (my request is still under review) as there is no comparison period in 2019. However, to wait until they get back to me.

But isn't the alternate turnover test applied so that we can work out based on the months worked prior to March 2020 to work out if there is a drop in turnover when there is no comparison period in the previous years?!

I am a bit confused with the information on the legislation and what the call centre provided. Hence asking for some clarification! Please help advise!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Most helpful response

Community Manager

Replies 4

Hi all,

I can imagine this would be a very distressing. If you've received a letter saying that you're ineligible we'd recommend you gather any evidence of eligibility so that we can work with you to ensure that we make the right determination.

43 REPLIES 43
Highlighted

Initiate

Replies 4