Announcements
We’re doing scheduled maintenance on ATO Community to bring you a bigger, better and brighter online community.
You may see us go into read-only mode over the weekend while we do this. Don’t worry! You’ll still be able to search the site to find your answers.

ATO Community

Re: Job Keeper Sole Trader Tax Return 12 March Cut Off Exclusion

Initiate

Replies 2

Hi @MariR 

Thank you for the information. 

I am a sole trader, not registered for GST and I am yet to lodge my 18/19 return through my tax agent (lodgement due date May 15).  

As such, I beleive I fall  under "the discretion to give further time" catergory and am eligible for job seeker. 

When I log onto my gov > ATO Portal to complete the form to enrol for job seeker, do I answer yes to the final question? 

If you could please clarify here or the correct way to move forward that would be greatly appreciated. 

Thank you and take care. 

Enthusiast

Replies 0

Well I think MariR  has clearly expliend everything. As per my understanding if you have lodge your tax statement by your account with the due date of  May 15th,  they may consider extending time.

I'm new

Replies 0

I am just wondering if anyone can reccomend a tax agent that they are using that hasn't put through their tax yet? I missed the date by a day because it didn't clear but hoping they can help me out.

Thank you.

Initiate

Replies 1

Thanks to MariR I have now successfully enrolled as I assume that I meet the limited requirements for extension as I lodge my tax return through a registered tax agent and have an extension till 25th of May. I just ticked yes to all the requirements

Enthusiast

Replies 0

Hello Tiff,

where does it show the extention date of 25th May. Is it in Mygov or somewhere else?

Thank you.

Initiate

Replies 0

Hello @MariR 

Are you able to give any clarity as to whether sole traders who have lodged their 2018/2019 ITR after 12 March not through a tax agent will be eligible for the JobKeeper

Thanks