Announcements
We understand 2020 has been difficult and we're here to try and make it easier during tax time. Search posts, read articles or ask a question.

ATO Community

Job Keeper rejected following successful registration and declaration

Highlighted

Initiate

Views 439

Replies 6

Hi!

I'm hoping someone can help me.  I have spoken at length with the ATO about this issue, received conflicting answers, and feel as though I'm now getting the runabout because no-one knows the solution.

I am a sole trader with a very simple business structure.  On 20 April 2020, I successfully registered my business for Job Keeper, and declared my downturn for April on 4 May 2020.  On 6 May 2020, I received an email from the ATO saying that my Job Keeper claim was rejected because my business did not have an ABN on 12 March 2020.

Not only did I have a registered ABN on 12 March 2020, my business has actually been in operation since 2017. I also satisfy all other legislative criteria: the business was in operation on 1 March 2020,  my 2018/19 tax returns showed a business income amount and were lodged in January 2020, and I satisify the general downturn test.  

I was under the impression that Job Keeper was self-assessed, and that you would be unable to even register without a valid ABN held as at 12 March 2020?  I have been seeking a review of this matter by the ATO ever since, only to be told yesterday that I was now required to seek discretion from the Commissioner.

My understanding of Commissioner discretion is that it can only be sought: 1) for an extension of time regarding ABN registration, and 2) for an extension of time for the lodgement of tax documents.  When I explained to the ATO that I do not require an extension of time for either of these things, as I already comply, I was told that the application to the Commissioner was necessary if I wanted the matter reviewed, and that it would take up to 28 days or more to receive response.