Announcements
Worried you’re missing part of your refund? Remember, the low and middle income tax offset isn’t a refund on its own – it’s used to offset (or reduce) the amount of tax you pay. The offset amount you may be entitled to is automatically applied and could range between $255-$1080, depending on things like your taxable income and how much tax you’ve paid.
Still not sure? Ask the Community

ATO Community

Re: Job keeper difference deducted from future commissions I earned

I'm new

Views 576

Replies 2

Hi,

Ill preface this with I work in sales.
My Employer recommended I apply for Jobkeeper even though my base salary is under $1500 per fornight.
They have paid me my normal base salary and added the extra amount they were recieving through Job Keeper as 'Commision in advance' to take me up to the $1500 p/fortnight.
We went through a tough few months with no sales. However things have started to turn around with sales now coming in.
My employer has now explained to me that they have been tallying up the 'commision in advance' payments over the past 5 months and are now withholding that amount from my future commision payments

Can my employer do that?
Or is that technically withholding my jobkeeper payments from me?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Most helpful response

ATO Community Support

Replies 0

Hi @josh1,

Thank you for getting in touch with us! 

If your employer was claiming for and paying you the JobKeeper payment they need to pass on the full amount. It cannot be broken up and classified into different payment types. If they are not doing the right thing you need to report this under fraudulent, phoenix, tax evasion or black economy activity by reporting it to us. 

2 REPLIES 2

Most helpful response

ATO Community Support

Replies 0

Hi @josh1,

Thank you for getting in touch with us!