Announcements
We understand that 2020 has been a difficult year but we're here to try and make it a little easier for you during tax time. You can search other people's posts, read our articles or ask your own question.

ATO Community

JobKeeper - full time and casual work for same employer, am I eligible?

Highlighted

Initiate

Views 230

Replies 3

Ok here’s my unfortunate situation I fall into;

Hired April 2019 as a full time permanent employee, March 23rd 2020 I had to request to step down to casual to be able to look after my kids being home. Government criteria states “as at March 1st you were employed... “ I was a full time employee on that date for the previous 10-11 months and the next coming 3 weeks before temporarily closing.. should I be judged as that for job seeker eligibility? I worked as a casual for one week March 19th-22nd, before I closed our store, so all work commenced in the business (minus that 1 week) was on my full time employment. The business is still closed due to covid 19 response. I am still employed and they are eligible for the job seeker scheme.

Am I eligible based of what I was hired on the date on March 1st?

Really need to get some clarity over this as we are all confused on where I fall

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Best answer

ATO Certified

Community Support

Replies 2

Hi @Jrobtat

You mention ‘contract’ and ‘employee’ which doesn’t make things clear.

However, the following information about employees on a fixed term contract might be useful to you. It mentions:

“Fixed-term contractors are eligible for the JobKeeper payment if they were employed at 1 March 2020 and meet the other eligibility criteria for the JobKeeper payment. If your contract ends and is renewed before 27 September 2020, the JobKeeper payment will only be available for the fortnights where the employment relationship exists until 27 September 2020.”