Announcements
Looking for answers? Search our popular topics or ask a new question.

ATO Community

Re: Jobkeeper For Start Up Businesses

Highlighted

Initiate

Views 746

Replies 5

Hi there,

This seems to have been asked a few times with no clear answer so I'm hoping to get some clarity now that the enrolments forms are online for myself and other start-up businesses in a similar position.

I'm a sole trader operating a small marketing business that's been in operation since October 2019. Due to the current crisis, my turnover has significantly reduced (by more than 30%) during March and April.

My business meets all the eligibility criteria for Jobkeeper except that I have not lodged at least one of:

- a 2018–19 income tax return showing that it had an amount included in its assessable income in relation to it carrying on a business, or

- an activity statement or GST return for any tax period that started after 1 July 2018 and ended before 12 March 2020 showing that it made a taxable, GST-free or input-taxed sale.

Since my business was only established this financial year I couldn't have lodged a tax return for last year and since I am currently under the GST registration threshold, I am not required to lodge a monthly BAS.

Surely the Jobkeeper scheme does not exclude start-ups and other newly created businesses?

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Most helpful response

Devotee

Replies 4

ATO have just released information on their alternative turnover test which applies to new businesses. I hope this helps you out. 

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted

Most helpful response

Devotee

Replies 4

ATO have just released information on their alternative turnover test which applies to new businesses. I hope this helps you out. 

Highlighted

Initiate

Replies 3

Thanks @etchasketch 

I did see the alternative test and I satisfy the criteria for the reduction in turnover, which is great.