Announcements
Looking for answers? Search our popular topics or ask a new question.

ATO Community

Jobkeeper For Start Ups & New Businesses

Highlighted

Initiate

Views 574

Replies 2

Hi there,

This seems to have been asked a few times with no clear answer so I'm hoping to get some clarity now that the enrolments forms are online for myself and other start-up businesses in a similar position.

I'm a sole trader operating a small marketing business that's been in operation since October 2019. Due to the current crisis, my turnover has significantly reduced (by more than 30%) during March and April.

My business meets all the eligibility criteria for Jobkeeper except that I have not lodged, on or before 12 March 2020, at least one of:

• a 2018–19 income tax return showing that it had an amount included in its assessable income in relation to it carrying on a business, or
  • an activity statement or GST return for any tax period that started after 1 July 2018 and ended before 12 March 2020 showing that it made a taxable, GST-free or input-taxed sale.

Since my business was only established this financial year, I couldn't have lodged a tax return for last year and since I am currently under the GST registration threshold, I am not required to lodge a monthly BAS.

Surely the Jobkeeper scheme does not exclude start-ups and other newly created businesses affected by COVID-19?

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Most helpful response

Devotee

Replies 1

It doesnt make you ineligbile no,

There's limited guidence on this at the moment because they are still working through the details.