Announcements
Worried you’re missing part of your refund? Remember, the low and middle income tax offset isn’t a refund on its own – it’s used to offset (or reduce) the amount of tax you pay. The offset amount you may be entitled to is automatically applied and could range between $255-$1080, depending on things like your taxable income and how much tax you’ve paid.
Still not sure? Ask the Community

ATO Community

Jobkeeper, Sole Trader (no employees, no BAS, no business portal), Step 3 Question?

Initiate

Views 1644

Replies 4

Hi there,
I’m a sole trader with no employees. I work for myself as a driving instructor. My business has ceased due to COVID-19.

I applied for the job keeper payment & I’m confused as to what I do next?

Step 2 doesn’t seem to apply to me ( Identify and maintain your eligible employees) would that be correct?

Now for Step 3 (Make a business monthly declaration). I don’t pay GST as I just fall under the $75K threshold, therefore I cannot submit BAS. It says log in to the business portal which I don’t have. Do I need to download this? Is this where I will submit my monthly earnings?

How do I submit my monthly earnings exactly??

Please help.
Thank you so much!
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Most helpful response

Former Community Support

Replies 2

Hi @gmfreeek 

Essentially, if you have no employees, then at step 2, you leave these fields as '0'.  With your questions regarding step 3, you can log in to ATO online services via myGov to provide your current and projected GST turnover.

We have a guide on how to enrol for JobKeeper for sole traders that should help you with all your questions.

Hopefully this helps.

4 REPLIES 4

Most helpful response

Former Community Support

Replies 2

Hi @gmfreeek 

Essentially, if you have no employees, then at step 2, you leave these fields as '0'.  With your questions regarding step 3, you can log in to ATO online services via myGov to provide your current and projected GST turnover.