Announcements
We understand that 2020 has been a difficult year but we're here to try and make it a little easier for you during tax time. You can search other people's posts, read our articles or ask your own question.

ATO Community

Re: Jobkeeper for Soul traders - Enrol

Highlighted

Views 400

Replies 4

Hi,

I enrolled for the JobKeeper payments a few hours ago via MyGov.

I’m a soul trader, and only been active in my business for February/start of March. I have very little knowledge about tax/ATO. I would appreciate any help that you can give me in layman terms!

My questions are as follows:

1) I’ve Enrolled using MyGov, as a soul trader with zero employees. It says my request has been successfully lodged. What do I have to do now? I’m very confused as to what the next step is? I haven’t done any tests etc, I’ve just done the very simple enrolment page.

2) I have read all the information on the ATO website and here. I’m confused where it speaks about the MyGovID, Business portal and RAM - Do I need to have this, or can I do it all through MyGov? This part is confusing to me.

3) I’m currently stuck overseas due to Covid-19. Am I still eligible to receive the JobKeeper payment while abroad and lodging as a soul trader?

I’m confused, stressed and concerned - As I’m sure many people are. I appreciate any advice and answer you can give me.

Kind Regards,
Alex.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Best answer

ATO Certified

Community Support

Replies 3

Hi @alexwaddell 

Thanks for posting your questions in our community.

To answer your questions:

1. There is nothing further you needed to do – the payments will start on 1 May 2020. You can find more information about sole traders and Jobkeeper on our guides.
  2. You can find out more about myGovID and RAM on our website – basically they are authentication systems to access our online services.
  3. Yes, you can.

Hope this helps,

RaisaN

4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted

Best answer

ATO Certified