Announcements
Looking for answers? Search our popular topics or ask a new question.

ATO Community

Re: Jobkeeper sole trader - new business eligibility

Highlighted

Initiate

Views 1038

Replies 8

Hi, 

I'm a sole trader who set up my business in November last year. The ATO has now released the alternative test rules for new businesses and I satisfy the alternative turnover test. 

However on the sole trader page the eligibility criteria is: 

Your entity is eligible if:

• on 1 March 2020, it carried on a business in Australia
  • it satisfies the fall in turnover test for the relevant period
  • it satisfied certain conditions as at 12 March 2020, being
    • it had an ABN on 12 March 2020, and
    • it had lodged, on or before 12 March 2020, at least one of
      • a 2018–19 income tax return showing that it had an amount included in its assessable income in relation to it carrying on a business, or
      • an activity statement or GST return for any tax period that started after 1 July 2018 and ended before 12 March 2020 showing that it made a taxable, GST-free or input-taxed sale.

See red above. My business was not yet registered for GST (unclear whether I would hit the threshold for this financial year), hasn't been contacted by the ATO for make PAYG installments (so no activity statements), and wasn't operating last year. Will the above eligibility criteria also be amended to include new business sole traders or am I ineligible? 

Thanks for your advice. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Most helpful response

Devotee

Replies 0