ATO Community

Re: Jobseeker while waiting for jobkeeper?

Views 1063

Replies 4

Hey all,

I am a sole trader and I believe I qualify for JobKeeper. I have submitted my claim but have not received any actual confirmation that I will indeed receive this $1500 per fortnight. Unlike regular employees, who are already being paid jobkeeper through their employers, I have not yet received any financial support (as I'm a sole trader I must wait for the ato to make a payment).

My question is: Can I apply for JobSeeker now and then cancel that if/when Jobkeeper money starts actually coming into my bank account? I know of course you cannot receive JobKeeper and JobSeeker money at the same time, because the $1500/fortnight from JobKeeper will automatically put you above the cutoff for JobSeeker. But as I'm a sole trader, I have not actually received any money yet, while my business turnover has been down since March. I also haven't received any actual concrete confirmation that I indeed will receive the Jobkeeper, so it makes sense to me to get JobSeeker while I wait?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Ben.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Most helpful response

Former Community Support

Replies 3

Hi @bencelot

Thanks for getting in touch

Check, out the information in our JobKeeper guide – Sole Traders. This guide has all the steps you need to take to enrol for JobKeeper payments.

If you have already enrolled for JobKeeper payment and completed all the steps detailed in the JobKeeper guide – Sole Traders, then information regarding payments can be found in our Knowledge Base

When will I receive the payment?

You will receive the payment within 2 weeks once you have enrolled, identified eligible employees and business participant and completed the monthly business declaration.

In relation to your question on applying for JobSeeker payment, our Knowledge Base also has information on this.

I’ve applied for the JobSeeker Payment as well, can I claim both?