Announcements
Have you sold crypto, shares or property? Our new capital gains tax guide has info about cost bases, calculations & more! Still got questions? Ask the Community!

ATO Community

Re: Lost full Sole Trader income but permanently employed elsewhere. Lost half income - no Jobkeeper

Views 1976

Replies 9

I have 2 jobs to balance my budget  - I have lost 100% Sole Trader income due to COVID-19 restrictions, but am permanent employed elsewhere and still working in that job. I have lost half of my effective income, have THE SAME EXPENSES in my budget and yet (unlike casuals) I cannot apply for Jobkeeper for my Sole Trader income. It seems very unfair and I have been a Sole Trader for 17 years and pay full tax on both incomes. I do NOT claim the Tax Free Threshold on my permanent job (which I still have). Can this rule be adjusted or challenged as this is a real gap in the system? How can we apply for Jobseeker for the lost Sole Trader income (like casuals have the opportunity to do so). Casuals can work just a few hours ( as a second job) and get Jobseeker and yet a Sole Trader (in a similar situation) can't? 

Does the ATO or anyone have any clarification on this? Can there be cases that get considered?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Most helpful response

Former Community Support

Replies 1

Hi @Mellyboo 

Thanks for contacting ATO Community.

It’s a really difficult time for many, so hopefully this information will be able to assist you.

To claim payments for April, you need to pay your eligible employees by 8 May and enrol online and identify your eligible employees by 31 May.

Our JobKeeper guide for sole traders provide step-by-step information on how to enrol for the JobKeeper payment, how to identify and maintain your employees and how to make a business declaration each month.