Announcements
We understand 2020 has been difficult and we're here to try and make it easier during tax time. Search posts, read articles or ask a question.

ATO Community

New Businesses / Start Up and Job Keeper Eligibility

Highlighted

Dynamo

Views 922

Replies 6

Hi All, 

I'm a sole trader with no employees. I started my biz in August 2019 and therefore have no tax information for the last financial year related to my business.

I'm wondering about new businesses and start ups eligibility for the JobKeeper payment. 

As a wedding florist, my income is now zero and I'm worried with the new eligibility criteria it doesn't say anything about 'ATO Discretion' which is use to say. It's mentioning we must have done a 2018-19 tax return with a business related claim in it OR have submitted our GST / BAS (which many new businesses don't need). Thoughts? 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Best answer

Master

Replies 2

ATO have said they will determine an alternative test for fall in turnover where there is not an appropriate relevant comparison period. They have specifically called out new businesses - we will be making a legislative instrument to deal with new businesses in operation less than a year, and some other circumstances such as businesses who had a temporary fall in turnover in 2019 due to drought. This will be available soon.

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted

Initiate

Replies 0

I started my business around that time as a sole trader and seeking calrification as well 

Highlighted

Initiate

Replies 1

This is what it states on the ATO website in the sole trader section 

Eligible business participant

Your non-employee individual is an eligible business participant of your entity for the fortnight if they meet all of the following:

• They are an individual not employed by your entity.
  • They are actively engaged in the business carried on by your entity (at 1 March 2020 and for the fortnight you are claiming).