Announcements
We understand that 2020 has been a difficult year but we're here to try and make it a little easier for you during tax time. You can search other people's posts, read our articles or ask your own question.

ATO Community

Re: New Sole Trader - Missing step1 when I log into ATO onlineservices portal

Highlighted

Views 191

Replies 5

Hello,

I'm a new sole trader (setup business in mid Jan 2020, made redundant from job in April 2019) I only landed my first customer during first week of march 2020 and completed the job around 20th of March. Since then I have not had any new customers. 

Now when I try to apply for jobkeeper using ato online services (by logging into MYgov > ATO > ATO Online services) I don't see the step1 option described in the sole traders job keeper guide. https://www.ato.gov.au/general/jobkeeper-payment/In-detail/JobKeeper-guide---sole-traders/

I tried calling 132866 and spoke to a lady who said she does not know why this option is missing for me. Any advice or guidance from community members would be much appreciated. 

Thanks

Stay positive stay strong. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Best answer

Community Support

Replies 4

Hi @ruc-sole-T 

Thanks for the question, and I am sorry to hear you are having trouble registering.

This does sound like a situation where you will need to phone us to assist you. Our call centres are very busy at the moment, however we have extended our hours of operation and I would recommend calling outside of the core business hours.

I would suggest confirming you meet all the eligibility requirements, including holding an ABN on 12 March 2020.

Good luck with everything, SueO

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted

Best answer

Community Support

Replies 4

Hi @ruc-sole-T 

Thanks for the question, and I am sorry to hear you are having trouble registering.