Announcements
Have a question about JobKeeper? Things are a little different this month so we’ve put together a summary of what businesses need to know.

ATO Community

Re: Redundancy on parttime job - can I switch to soletrader JK?

Views 324

Replies 6

Hello,
I have been receiving JobKeeper through my parttime job, which is now doing a restructure due to the climate and making some of us (understandably) redundant.

This means that at the beginning of October I'll no longer be receiving JobKeeper through my employer.

I also work as a soletrader (more than 20 hrs a week). Will I be able to receive JobKeeper through my ABN & if so, when should I apply for it?

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Most helpful response

Devotee

Replies 0

No, the only time you can change your JobKeeper employer (or business participant) is where you have been let go by your employer between 1 March and 1 July.

6 REPLIES 6

Most helpful response

Devotee

Replies 0

No, the only time you can change your JobKeeper employer (or business participant) is where you have been let go by your employer between 1 March and 1 July.

Community Support

Replies 4

Hi @ParttimevsABN,

Sorry to hear of the unfortunate situation your about to go through at the moment but hopefully I have some good news for you that you may be eligible AFTER you are made redundant.

As JobKeeper is self-assessed you will need to determine you meet the following 3 criteria requirements:

The first criteria to view is to 'Work out if you are an eligible entity' which also contains a 'fall in turnover test'.

If you meet the above criteria's, move on to 'Work out if you are an eligible business participant' where you must satisfy ALL the requirements.
Now with this, there is one point in there that states 'you are not an employee of another business', well with the info you gave, you won’t be an employee anymore after the 1st Oct (approx.) as you mentioned the redundancy.