Announcements
Looking for answers? Search our popular topics or ask a new question.

ATO Community

Re: Sole trader - Jobkeeper eligibility

Enthusiast

Views 1429

Replies 12

Hello, I am a sole trader and only started trading since July 2019. My business has been ordered to shut down so at the moment i have no income. Am i eligible for jobkeeper if i am not registered for GST (because my turnover is less than $75000) and therefore, i haven't submitted any BAS to the ATO from July 2019 until 12 March 2020? I think it is really unfair if i am not eligible just because i am not registered for GST. Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Most helpful response

ATO Certified Response

Community Support

Replies 5

Hi @Thai,

There is a lot of information available at the moment and it can be a little confusing.

You can register for JobKeeper as a sole trader, and you do not need to be registered for GST.

If you do meet the eligibility guidelines there is a JobKeeper guide with steps by step instructions to assist you to register and any obligations.

@mac_bridie I hope this information assist you too and thanks @RobertW for helping out in our Community, really appreciated.

I hope this helps you, SueO

12 REPLIES 12

Superuser

Replies 0

I'm in the same boat. Started in Aug 2019. Not registered for BAS.
Haven't submitted anything to ATO as I'm a new business and don't need to until July.
Also don't have anything in my 2018-19 return about starting a biz because I wasn't in business.
It doesn't make sense. So confusing !

Enthusiast

Replies 7

Hi @Thai 

Check this page under Eligible business participant heading.

Hopefully this helps...

Enthusiast

Replies 6

Thank you very much Robert....

One of the conditions to apply being as follow;

"it satisfied certain conditions as at 12 March 2020, being  

• it had lodged, on or before 12 March 2020, at least one of