Announcements
We understand that 2020 has been a difficult year but we're here to try and make it a little easier for you during tax time. You can search other people's posts, read our articles or ask your own question.

ATO Community

Taxable percentage on profits from crypto?

Highlighted

Initiate

Views 1672

Replies 5

Hi. I have been purchasing Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies since July 2017. I have bought them in order to trade them and make profit.

The cryptocurrencies I have bought have increased in value and I have been trading them for other undervalued cryptocurrencies.

Can you tell me what the tax rate I will have to pay on these profits when I go to trade them back into Aus dollars. If I have held them for less than 12 months...And can you tell me the rate if I hold them for longer than 12 months.

Also my mother is on a disability pension. She is 72. She has also purchased some cryptocurrencies and is curious to know what her tax rate will be when she cashes them in and if it will affect her pension benefits.

We have both made over $10,000 AUD in profit.

Any assistance on these queries will be much appreciated.

Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Best answer

Taxicorn

Replies 2

Not sure exactly which is "correct" but I wouldn't be paying anybody $2,000 to set something up for me without knowing exactly what, why & how they are doing it.

I, personally agree with Number 1.

Look at it this way, a Share trader can also have 'other' investments that are not part of their trading business.

As long as these are clearly identified separately at tax time you should be fine.

In fact keeping separate wallets is a very good idea.

Better still ask for a private ruling from the ATO regarding your exact situation. It will cost you $0 and you have the confidence knowing that at least as far as the ATO are concerned you are doing the right thing.

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted

Taxicorn

Replies 4