Announcements
What's the right super fund for you? Although super may not be on the top of your list now, keeping track of your super can help maximise your savings for when you retire. Try out the new YourSuper comparison tool and choose a super fund that meets your needs. Still got questions about super? Ask the Community

ATO Community

Claiming DASP

Initiate

Views 5272

Replies 13

I'm really confused whether I'm eligible for DASP or no. I was a holder of Permanent Resident Visa but it expired back in 2013. I'm not eligible to extend my visa nor re-apply for permanent resident visa. I have left Australia in 2007 and haven't return since. But I still have my Super in Australia. Can I claim DASP? If I'm not eligible to claim DASP, for what reason ATO is preventing a non-citizen who has no intention to return to Australia from claiming his super? I'm trying to understand why ATO is treating permanent resident visa and temporary resident visa differently in regards to claiming DASP. Both visas can expire and can be cancelled by the Immigration. Holders of either visa are both non-citizen.

I'm asking this because I received a mixed information from various sources. Some said that if the Immigration cancelled my permanent resident visa or I can no longer extend it, I can claim DASP. Even ATO staffs that I spoke to on the phone, gave conflicting information. So, this is really confusing.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Most helpful response

Initiate

Replies 1