Announcements
Read our answers to common questions about JobKeeper, Early release of super and Cash flow boost.

ATO Community

Tax on PSS Pension components for a Foriegn Resident

Highlighted

Views 315

Replies 3

Hi,

I am intending to retire at age 60 and will be claiming a full PSS pension as part of my retirement benefits. I am considering the option of retiring in Singapore and am wondering if I became a foreign tax resident, would the taxed and taxable taxed component of the pension remain untaxed (as i will have reached preservation age) as they would if I was an Australian tax resident, and would only the untaxed portion of the pension be subject to the foreign resident tax rate of 32.5c for each $1 ?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Best answer

Taxicorn

Replies 2

@Angmo 

If you cease to be an Australian Resident for tax purposes and move indefinitely to another country you will be subject to their tax system/rates.

However, if there is a double tax agreement with that country, you won't be taxed twice.

Having a PSS, I presume is a "government' pension and as such never was taxed going in so it will be taxed coming out.

A similar question was answered here

3 REPLIES 3
Highlighted

Best answer

Taxicorn

Replies 2

@Angmo 

If you cease to be an Australian Resident for tax purposes and move indefinitely to another country you will be subject to their tax system/rates.

However, if there is a double tax agreement with that country, you won't be taxed twice.

Having a PSS, I presume is a "government' pension and as such never was taxed going in so it will be taxed coming out.

A similar question was answered here

Highlighted

Replies 1

@macfanboy