Announcements
We understand 2020 has been difficult and we're here to try and make it easier during tax time. Search posts, read articles or ask a question.

ATO Community

Re: Signed a contract just before applying for FHSS release

Highlighted

Initiate

Views 4611

Replies 31

Hi,

I have a predicament I would love some help with.

Since the inception of the FHSS, I’ve been putting away money since 1st July 2017 for my first home. I’ve put in $15,000 in FY18 as pre tax contribution via salary sacrificed and some more for FY19 YTD.

I managed to find a place I really liked and subsequently signed the contract last week.

What I did not know was that I needed to have the FHSS funds released to me before signing the contract. This was an honest mistake and I accept responsibility for not reading the fine print.

I do not want to be subject to a FHSS 20% flat tax/penalty as I feel this is very undeserved when I’m just trying to save for my first home.

Could you please advise what I need to do, I have signed the contract and just applied to have my funds determined and subsequently released. 

Appreciate your help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Best answer

Anonymous

Replies 0

Legislation is applied equally to everyone, and there are some very good reasons for it.  In your case it was an honest error, however the legislation is still going to be applied in the same manner as for everyone else.

You will now have to wait for the FHSS determination before you can do anything, as you do not know the outcome.

If you do not agree with the determination then you can lodge an objection

If it comes down to lodging an objection you are going to have to do your research as objections are usually only ever won on grounds of incorrect application of the law, and to that extent you may want to discuss with a good tax agent / accountant.

Apart from that there is not much you can do at this point in time.

ATO general taxation enquiries 13 28 61