Announcements
Curious about the JobMaker Hiring Credit? Have a read about who is eligible and how to register.

ATO Community

Correct amount of PAYG withheld for back payment of unpaid wages?

This post is archived and may not be up-to-date.

Views 1183

Replies 3

Could I please kindly request help on understanding the amount of PAYG withheld by my previous employer on a lump sum payment for unpaid wages? 

The lump sum amount is just over $18k and PAYG withheld was just under $8k. This equates to 45% tax on the lump sum paymentSmiley Sad   

(Sorry I'm using rounded amounts, as it's my first time to post on here and wasn't quite sure if I have to keep personal financial details private??)

Here is the backgroud details if this helps with determing correct calculation:

I was employed by this employer from January 2017 to January 2019. After advice from the Fair Work Ombudsman, I sent a letter of demand for unpaid wages, entitlements and allowances, totalling just over $18k - yes I couldn't believe how much the total was until FWO informed me! Just today, my previous employer agreed to pay the full claim of $18k, less any taxes payableSmiley Happy

However, I was shocked when I received an email late this afternoon, lettting me know that payment is scheduled for next week - attached was a copy of the payslip. To my shock horror, the nett pay I will receive is just over $10k; that's just under $8k in tax / 45% tax rate.  As mentioned, I finished working with this employer back in January this year. I briefly worked for another employer, but left in late June 2019. My income for this financial year to date is $0. I do not plan to return to paid employment for the next 12months or more, so I do not plan on engaging in paid employment. So other than this lump sum payment, I won't be earning any wages or employment income. My previous employer would definitely have my TFN on file and I'm not a foreign tax resident.