Announcements
We’re in read-only mode while we do some scheduled maintenance to bring you a bigger, better and brighter online community.
You can still search the site to find answers or take a look at our current top 10 questions.

ATO Community

Foreign Currency Accounts / Transferring to Australia

This post is archived and may not be up-to-date.

Views 1306

Replies 4

Hi,

Quite confused on this topic so appreciate any assistance!

I am an Australian expat living in the USA. I have accumulated a few years of income etc in a US bank account and looking to transfer it home to Australia. Do I need to be conscious of forex gains upon transfer? I am over the $250k limited election so I don't qualify for that exception.

Specifically, do forex gains/losses only apply if I am an Australian tax resident? I am currently a US tax resident. 

Thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Most helpful response

Community Moderator

Replies 1

Hi @jonato89

Thanks for your post.

This is a question that gets asked regularly in our Community. You can check out a few threads here:

Hope this helps.

Thanks, ChrisR

4 REPLIES 4

Replies 2

Really appreciate any help here! Thank you! 

Most helpful response

Community Moderator

Replies 1

Hi @jonato89

Thanks for your post.

This is a question that gets asked regularly in our Community. You can check out a few threads here:

Hope this helps.

Thanks, ChrisR

Replies 0

Thanks Chris, these threads are all very helpful!

However, to be even more specific, as a non-resident for Australian tax purposes, would the forex gains or losses associated with moving foreign-denominated currency into Australia, under the TOFA rules, qualify as Australian-sourced income and trigger the need to lodge an Australian tax return.

Note: this transfer is not forex trading related; solely to move personal funds back to Australia.
Note: no other Australian sourced income, so would otherwise not be lodging an Australian tax return.