Announcements
Curious about the JobMaker Hiring Credit? Have a read about who is eligible and how to register.

ATO Community

Payment of Superannuation on Lump-Sum Payments

This post is archived and may not be up-to-date.

Views 905

Replies 4

Hi, I am an Australian resident and I was hoping for some assistance. Three of the last five years my employer (a large finance company) paid my salary increase as a lump sum payment rather than as a percentage increase to my salary and I was advised on each occasion that payment of superannuation was not applicable. However, as I understand it, these payments are considered part of my ordinary time earnings (OTE) for super guarantee purposes and therefore superannuation should have been paid. Am I correct with my assumption?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Most helpful response

ATO Certified Response

Community Support

Replies 2

Hi @Chris80,

Thanks for getting in touch!

As @macfanboy has addressed - it would depend on your employment agreement/contract or award as to what is considered your ordinary time earnings. If you have a written contract and would like to discuss your situation further, you can contact our Early engagement team by submitting a request form or requesting a call back and an officer will contact you to discuss your situation further.

Thanks, JodieH.

4 REPLIES 4

Taxicorn

Replies 0

Most helpful response

ATO Certified Response

Community Support

Replies 2

Hi @Chris80,

As @macfanboy has addressed - it would depend on your employment agreement/contract or award as to what is considered your ordinary time earnings. If you have a written contract and would like to discuss your situation further, you can contact our Early engagement team by submitting a request form or requesting a call back and an officer will contact you to discuss your situation further.

Thanks, JodieH.

Replies 1

Hi @JodieH and @macfanboy

Thank you for your reply.