Announcements
Looking for answers? Search our popular topics or ask a new question.

ATO Community

Superannuation refund dilemma

This post is archived and may not be up-to-date.

Highlighted

Views 902

Replies 5

I was a resident in Australia in the year 2014/2015 and under Super section in my payslip which was being generated by Xero, it reads SGC - Fund Details Pending.

After looking this up I found out that I was meant to give my preffered Super fund but I didn't. Nevertheless, there was remittance being made on every payday towards the same.

My question is, since I already departed Australia and am trying to apply for the reimbursement of the Super money, am I able to get it back. And in such a case where are the funds being held at and which is the appropriate way to claim for that Super?

Please help - many thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Most helpful response

ATO Certified Response

Community Support

Replies 1

Hi @Lox

Thanks for your question.

When you make an application via the DASP online application system, if we have any records of your super, the system will automatically present an application for each super account (including super held by us) found during the search.

Super providers are required to regularly report to us contributions received for members as well as the current status of the account. Until recently that was done once a year. Depending on the fund, it is now done on a more frequent basis.

If you have a myGov account with our online services linked to it, you can view your reported super details online. The online services – super for individuals page on our website explains what information you can see there.

From what you have said, it sounds like there are potentially no super accounts on record. In other words, there is no super to be claimed. If that is the case, it could be due to a number of reasons.