Announcements
We understand 2020 has been difficult and we're here to try and make it easier during tax time. Search posts, read articles or ask a question.

ATO Community

Non-resident Claiming Super at Preservation Age Tax

Highlighted

Views 1825

Replies 6

Hi,

This is a question I can’t find any answer to on the ATO website, hoping you can help!

I held both a 417 and 457 visa in Australia and I know I am eligible to make a DASP claim. I also know thy after 6 months my superfund will transfer my super to the ATO and they will hold it as unclaimed super.

However, I do not want to make a DASP claim as they changed the tax to 65% if any amount in the fund could be attributed to being made under the 417 visa. (This feels unjust)

My question is this: Can I leave my super with the ATO when my superfund sends it to them as unlcaimed super until I reach preservation age?

Furthermore what % will I be taxed on my super at preservation age if I am a non resident and non-citizen of Australia? (will it still be 65% or will it be the normal tax rate?)

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Best answer

Devotee

Replies 5

Hi TS1

I've looked into this when someone else asked a similar question.

I won't get into the policy design. But I will say that there are trade-offs involved in designing policies. The more equitable you try to make a policy the more data needs to be collected and reported, and that imposes costs on the system, and those costs are borne either by fund members (for additional administration required by funds) or by employees (for additional costs on employers) or by taxpayers (for additional costs on government departments). Sometimes you can look for rules of thumb to minimise the costs involved (eg the shift to a flat 50% capital gains tax discount) but then you're trading away some fairness to gain some simplicity.