• 224 Online
  • 15598 Members
  • 18280 Posts

ATO Community

Re: Working part time on a superannuation income stream

Ask a question

This conversation has been closed. Please start a new thread.

Views 611

Replies 2

HI,

I will be 63 when I retire in a year and will be collecting a superannuation income stream. I am also studying at the moment and hope to practice my new skills and knowledge on a part time basis when I retire. I will not be collecting a government pension.

1. Can I work a couple of days a week when I retire?

2. If so, is my super income stream then taxed as an income?

Thanks

Doug

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Best answer

ATO Certified

Devotee

Replies 1

Hi @Doug

* I'll try to help, however please note this isn't financial advice.

Your Question) I will be 63 when I retire in a year and will be collecting a superannuation income stream. I am also studying at the moment and hope to practice my new skills and knowledge on a part time basis when I retire. I will not be collecting a government pension. Can I work a couple of days a week when I retire?

You can generally access your super when;

• you turn 65 (even if you haven’t retired), or
  • you reach preservation age and retire, or
  • under the transition to retirement rules, while continuing to work.

When you’re accessing your super by way of the ‘retirement’ condition of release, your super fund trustee must be reasonably satisfied you never again intend to become gainfully employed, either on a full-time basis (at least 30 hours each week) or on a part-time basis (at least 10 hours and less than 30 hours each week). People often return to work after retiring, but at the time of retiring the intention to retire must have been genuine.