Announcements
Looking for information on the JobKeeper extension? Check out our answers to common questions the community has been asking.

ATO Community

Claiming cost of air conditioner installation

Highlighted

Views 427

Replies 10

Hi,

I am an employee who works from home full time. My employer does not provide an office to work in, and as such, I have been working from home for several years and, as far as I understand, am eligible to claim occupancy expenses as a result. Late last year I moved house and had a split system unit installed in my home office. My home office is a completely separate building to the main residence on my property and is solely used for work purposes. I would like some assistance with how I can claim the purchase price and installation of the unit in my tax return.

Cheers

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Most helpful response

Community Support

Replies 0

Hi @xsurfergirlx

Thanks for the question.

@dirk has provided you with some great information. We also suggest that you have a good look at TR 93/30 as it may be relevant to you.

A similar question has been asked in our Community before. You can check out the thread and our response here: Home office

You will see from our response as well as the thread's other posts that you have posed a complex question that doesn't have a straight-forward answer. If you can claim the cost of your air conditioner, you can only claim a deduction for its decline in value that is attributable to your work use.

We suggest that you check out the information about home office expenses on our website. If you would like us to take a closer look at your situation, you can request an early engagement discussion with us.

All the best.

10 REPLIES 10
Highlighted

Devotee

Replies 6

@xsurfergirlx