Announcements
Looking for information on the JobKeeper extension? Watch the video in our latest news article.

ATO Community

Re: Deductions and attributed PSI

Highlighted

Views 1509

Replies 8

In the 2018-19 Financial Year I worked as an IT contractor through Peoplebank and recieved regular monthly pay for hours worked (like salary/wages), on my payslip/pre-fill this is shown as 'Attributed PSI' as a result it looks like myTax won't let me lodge deductions.

I have a number of deductions for things like travelling between multiple worksites in a day, work related books, etc. These weren't expensed to Peoplebank or deducted by them. However in myTax I can't access the sections where these would normally be lodged:

• Work-related car expenses
  • Work-related travel expenses
  • Work-related clothing, laundry and dry-cleaning expenses 
  • Work-related self-education expenses 
  • Other work-related expenses

All have a message that "To make a claim in this section, you must first show income from salary and wages or foreign employment income in the Income statements and payment summaries section."

All of the information I can find online describes the rules for determining whether something is PSI and explaining that as PSI it will be treated equivalent to salary/wages for tax purposes rather than being treated as business income.

I'm not trying to deduct anything the taxation rulings prohibit (salary, mortgages, etc) but mytax seems to lock me out of the normal deductions.

Hoping someone could point me in the right direction.

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Most helpful response

ATO Certified Response

Community Support

Replies 3

Hi @AUUK-taxq

Use the Personal services income (PSI) decision tool on our website to work out whether you earned PSI, and if the PSI rules apply to that income.