Announcements
Worried you’re missing part of your refund? Remember, the low and middle income tax offset isn’t a refund on its own – it’s used to offset (or reduce) the amount of tax you pay. The offset amount you may be entitled to is automatically applied and could range between $255-$1080, depending on things like your taxable income and how much tax you’ve paid.
Still not sure? Ask the Community

ATO Community

Re: Income Tax on Foreign Assets for New PR

Views 106

Replies 3

Hi All,

Pardon my lack of knowledge on Australian Tax as I am new to this. I would like to confirm the following w.r.t new PR holders.

1. Newly arrived PR holders will be Australian Tax residents as per resides test, right? (183 days test won't apply) so even if someone arrives in the last month of the financial year, they would be considered a resident for tax purposes.
  2. What happens to overseas investment after landing in Australia? My understanding is that as long I keep that investment, I don't need to pay any tax. But if I sell those investments temporarily or permanently then I need to pay tax. For example, if I have an investment in stocks and I hold 3 stocks. Then even if I sell one stock and make a profit on it then I will need to pay tax on that profit.
  3. As Australia have capital gain tax. So how does the calculation happens for the acquired assets/investments when new PR starts living in Australia? Will the calculation be on the original price (whatever that maybe) or would it be the price at the time of becoming tax resident in Australia?
  4. Do new PR have any tax commitments before arriving in Australia? My understanding is No. There is no commitment for tax purpose until you land in Australia.
  5. Does Australia have any tax on gold jewellery for women?

Current resident in Singapore, which has tax agreements with Australia to avoid dual taxation.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Most helpful response

ATO Community Support

Replies 2

Hi @mail2ghost