Announcements
Looking for information on the JobKeeper extension? Check out our answers to common questions the community has been asking.

ATO Community

Re: Residency for tax purposes status and Medicare Levy

Highlighted

Initiate

Views 151

Replies 11

Good evening,
I would like to enquire regarding my residency status for tax purposes. I am a foreign resident (foreign passport) under student visa and have studied here in Australia for more than 1 year (meaning I should have reside in Australia for more than 6 months) and my course is 3 years long in total. I also live in 1 place for more than 1 year. I did the residency test on the ATO website and it showed that I am an Australian resident for tax purposes. I even called ATO since I was worried if I did a mistake, and they assured that I am regarded as stated above. I also did more research, even from the ATO website. I started a casual work on beginning of July 2020 (so 2020-2021 Financial Year) and I had to submit a Tax Declaration Form before I can start working. I chose Australian Resident for tax purposes since the residency test result said so and also from ATO's assurance. So, I am aware that Australian resident for tax purposes are eligible for a tax threshold on income of around $18,000 annually. However, I am confused about the Medicare Levy or Medicare Surcharges. I have an Overseas Student Health Cover since I am an international student. Am I eligible for Medicare levy and surcharge exemption? As stated above, I am also a foreign resident (Home Affairs POV) but an Australian resident for tax purposes. I have seen a couple of post regarding the need to submit a form to a certain department to get the exemption every year. May I know more about this? Also, when should I actually submit the form? Should I submit it before lodging a tax return or after? Please let me know to clear all the confusion, your reply will be highly appreciated. Thank you.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted