ATO Community

Self-education expenses | sufficient connection

Ask a question
Highlighted

Views 914

Replies 4

Hi, 

I am a public servant, whose full-time job is to manage the content of a government website. I am currently studying a graduate certificate in ICT. Is there a sufficent connection to my current work so I can claim this as a self-education expense? 

I think studying ICT will help me understand how websites work. The unit I studied in the previous semester was programming and that definitely improved my knowledge, which I was able to use when working with JavaScript. 

I think the study will potentially help me get a promotion in the future. 

Kind regards, 

Michael

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Best answer

ATO Certified

Devotee

Replies 3

Hi @michael1,

Thanks for posting! Tax deductions for self-education expenses related to your work as an employee are usually only available if you work and study at the same time and can satisfy any of these conditions:

• you are upgrading your qualifications for your current employment – for example, upgrading from a Bachelor qualification to a Masters qualification
  • you are improving specific skills or knowledge used in your current employment – for example, a course that will allow you to operate more machinery at work
  • you are employed as a trainee and you are undertaking a course that forms part of that traineeship – for example, an overseas trained person employed as an intern while doing a bridging course
  • you can show that at the time you were working and studying, your course led, or was likely to lead, to an increase in employment income – for example, a teacher who will automatically get a pay increase as a result of completing the course.

You cannot claim a deduction for self-education expenses for a course that does not have a sufficient connection to your current work activities even though it:

• might be generally related to it, or
  • enables you to get new employment.