• 225 Online
  • 23428 Members
  • 27603 Posts

ATO Community

Re: Tax Deductibility of Tuition Fees using Fee-HELP

Ask a question

Views 232

Replies 2

I am looking at commencing a Masters in July 2019.  Assuming my study relates sufficiently to my employment and will result in a promotion/pay increase I wanted to ask a question regarding the tax deductibility of tuition fees when using Fee-Help as I find different pages on ATO website confusing.

I have never used Fee-Help before so trying to understanding how it will work.

Am I correct in interpreting the tuition fees incurred during the financial year can be claimed as a deduction for self-education, even though I am using the Fee-Help system to pay for them?

Also, given that the tuition fees will be incurred in 2019/2020, will extra tax need to be taken out of my pay during the 2019/2020 year because of my Fee-Help loan, or will it be assessed when I do my 2019/2020 tax return and extra tax be deducted from then on.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Best answer

Taxicorn

Replies 1

Yes, Fee-Help is deductible.

https://www.ato.gov.au/Individuals/Tax-Return/2018/Tax-return/Deduction-questions-D1-D10/D4-Work-rel...

Whether it needs to be deducted or not depends on your estimated income for the year.

By ticking Yes at "Do you have a Higher Education Loan Program (HELP), Student Start-up Loan (SSL) or Trade Support Loan (TSL) debt?" on the tax file number declaration form question 9 your employer will deduct the correct amount if it needs to be deducted.

2 REPLIES 2

Best answer

Taxicorn

Replies 1

Yes, Fee-Help is deductible.

https://www.ato.gov.au/Individuals/Tax-Return/2018/Tax-return/Deduction-questions-D1-D10/D4-Work-rel...

Whether it needs to be deducted or not depends on your estimated income for the year.