Announcements
Read our answers to common questions about JobKeeper, Early release of super and Cash flow boost.

ATO Community

UK endowment policy matures

Highlighted

Views 382

Replies 5

Hi - I had UK endowment policy that I took out in early 1990's, recently mature after its full 25 year term. Although I no longer have the mortgage that I initially took the policy out for, I believe It is classed as a 'qualifying policy' in the UK and as I held it until full maturity it is not subject to any tax in the UK.

I am now an Australian Tax Resident and would like to transfer the money, approx GBP 57,400 to Australia. Do I have to declare this on my tax return and would the transfer be subject to AU taxation, given the money was a UK tax free payment

Many thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Best answer

Community Support

Replies 1

Hi @Ponderer

Thanks for your post.

This is a question that has been asked a few times in our Community. We recommend that you check out the following threads:

As you can see, there is no definitive answer for this one as it will depend on your circumstances.

Thanks, ChrisR

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted

Best answer

Community Support

Replies 1

Hi @Ponderer

Thanks for your post.

This is a question that has been asked a few times in our Community. We recommend that you check out the following threads:

As you can see, there is no definitive answer for this one as it will depend on your circumstances.

Thanks, ChrisR

Highlighted

Replies 0

Thanks ChrisR,

I could only see 1-2 similar questions, but couldnt understand where in the tax return the value of the monies should be included. I'm guessing its pointing towards section 20 "'Foreign source income and foreign assets'.

Do I include it as an answer in Q20, although it was not 'earnt as foreign income' but as a taxfree maturity from an overseas insurance policy.

Appreciate your answer

Highlighted

ATO Certified

Community Support

Replies 2

Hi @Ponderer