Announcements
Worried you’re missing part of your refund? Remember, the low and middle income tax offset isn’t a refund on its own – it’s used to offset (or reduce) the amount of tax you pay. The offset amount you may be entitled to is automatically applied and could range between $255-$1080, depending on things like your taxable income and how much tax you’ve paid.
Still not sure? Ask the Community

ATO Community

Why have I not received refund after the stated ‘effective date’?

Views 410

Replies 5

Hi all,

I am new to all of this so please excuse me if I am missing something obvious.

I have been told (and done some research) that the quoted ‘effective date’ is when you are to receive your tax refund. I have not received mine, yet my effective date was a couple days ago - is there something wrong?

I must say, my account says I am at stage ‘In progress – balancing account‘, so thought maybe there were still more checks occurring - but the fact I have been given an effective date I am now confused.

Any advice is very much appreciated.

Thank you all for your assistance.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Most helpful response

ATO Community Support

Replies 4

Hi @Bang,

In general the effective date should be the date your refund is issued to the bank. It sounds like your return is still processing.

Thank you.

5 REPLIES 5

Most helpful response

ATO Community Support

Replies 4

Hi @Bang,

In general the effective date should be the date your refund is issued to the bank. It sounds like your return is still processing.

Thank you.

Replies 3

My Tax Return States It Has Been Issued On The 16/7/21 But Still Not In My Bank Account!

Community Manager

Replies 2

Hi @JaseCepha76,

Sometimes it can take a couple of days for the bank to process the funds we send them and deposit them into your account.

Replies 1

Why Is My Current Balance Still Sitting & Haven't Been Transferred To My Bank Account 

ATO Community Support

Replies 0

Hi @JaseCepha76