ATO Community

ABN

Views 265

Replies 3

Hi, 

I work full time as an employee for a business. 

I am a winemaker and I have been animating some wine tasting for another business. 

I do that about once a month. 

I am not the one organising the tasting, but the business organising it wants to pay me for those interventions. 

The business paying me as a contractor wants an invoice to be able to pay me. 

I wanted to know if I needed an ABN for this activity, knowing that the income is going to be really small, like $2000/ year max, and i probably will do it only with that same business. 

Thanks 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Most helpful response

ATO Community Support

Replies 2

Hi @popo24,

Thank you for getting in touch with us!

Firstly you will need to determine if you are entitled to an ABN. You will do this through the ABR website using the ABN entitlement tool.

If the Business paying you as a contractor requests that you invoice them for your services and you are not entitled to an ABN then you would provide them with a Statement by a supplier.

Links

ABN entitlement

Statement by a supplier

3 REPLIES 3

Most helpful response

ATO Community Support

Replies 2

Hi @popo24,

Thank you for getting in touch with us!

Firstly you will need to determine if you are entitled to an ABN. You will do this through the ABR website using the ABN entitlement tool.

If the Business paying you as a contractor requests that you invoice them for your services and you are not entitled to an ABN then you would provide them with a Statement by a supplier.

Links

ABN entitlement

Statement by a supplier

Replies 1

Hi, 

I already read the ABN entitlement tool but it is not really clear in that case for me, that is why i asked the question on that website :