ATO Community

Re: Rollover multiple accounts from one SMSF to another

Ask a question

Views 705

Replies 5

Hello.  This is my first time here. 

The scenario:  In an SMSF, a member has multiple Accumulation accounts plus multiple TRIS accounts.  They wish to leave that SMSF and transfer their benefits to a different, newly set up, SMSF which currently has only one account running - an Accumulation account.  They wish to end up with the same multiple Accumulation and TRIS accounts in the new SMSF (apart from the current Accumulation account in that fund) as they have in the original SMSF.

The questions:  Can what the member wants actually be done?  Is there any rule that says money must go into an accumulation account (in the new fund) before a TRIS can be started using it, even if immediately?  Would the grand total transferred from the existing SMSF have to become a single account in the new SMSF, seeing that would be banked into the new SMSF as a single amount?  If so, would the member then be stuck with having to calculate the minimum TRIS based on the entire balance of that account (which would require a greater withdrawal than is required)?

Any help in getting my head around this would be very much appreciated. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Best answer

Devotee Registered Tax Practitioner

Replies 4

Is there any rule that says money must go into an accumulation account (in the new fund) before a TRIS can be started using it, even if immediately?

Yes, contributions can only be accepted into an accumulation account.

Would the grand total transferred from the existing SMSF have to become a single account in the new SMSF, seeing that would be banked into the new SMSF as a single amount?

Yes, because a member cannot have more than one accum account.

If so, would the member then be stuck with having to calculate the minimum TRIS based on the entire balance of that account