ATO Community

Simple way to pay income tax for sole traders

Ask a question

Views 973

Replies 1

Hi Guys, I'm so confused on the ATO website - need help.

About my business:

• Its like a chain of never ending hyperlinks taking me in cicrcles (You know what I mean). 
  • I'm a new sole trader business - new startup
  • I'm a total tax noob and I will always be, because its confusing. #taxnoob
  • Since ATO is discontinuing the Business Support Program on 1 July so I was told I cant use it and their hotlines make it hard to reach anyone regarding these nitty gritty questions I need help. So its a bit useless in terms of business support. I have no time to stand in front of queues. 

Topic I need to know about: 

• I need to know in simple terms - no complicated steps - just point form answers on paying tax as sole trader.  
  • I'm getting mixed answers and my tax agent is directing me to ATO and of course the ATO website has mixed answers. 
  • Hopefully this will also be useful for other sole traders. 

Questions I need help answering: 

1. Calculator: Which ATO calculator for calculating tax I need to pay as sole trader. I need to know which ATO calculator to use. 
  2. Average Tax Formula: Approximate tax percentage to calculate for sole trader earning less than 75K (as I will not be charging GST) eg: 10% of earnings? 20% of earnigns? 30% of earnigns? And Im ok with ATO refunding any excess. I rather pay regularly and get rufunded than have to pay huge sum at the end of 12 months. Need a formula - eg: Income - 0.20 (20%) = Tax to pay
  3. Frequency of Tax Payment: How often does ATO recommend a sole trader to review that periods income and calculate tax and pay it? each month? every 3 months, every 6 months?