Announcements
We understand that 2020 has been a difficult year but we're here to try and make it a little easier for you during tax time. You can search other people's posts, read our articles or ask your own question.

ATO Community

Re: Instant Asset Write Off - Small Business and Employee

Highlighted

Views 557

Replies 2

Starting up a small business whilst also working as an employee. I am an electrician and carry tools to work daily so i can claim my vehicle depreciation as well as all vehicle expenses by logbook method. However, i am wanting to start my own business whilt also working as an employee for primary income as i start the business.

If i earn 75% of my income as an employee and 25% as a small business, how does this work with a $30,000 instant asset write off?

I need to buy a new utility vehicle, tools, etc. So my deductions may come to $40,000 that i would intend to write off instantly. However, as the wnd od the tax year is fast approaching and i have not actually started the business yet, my deductions of $40k will most probably exceed the income generated by the small business. However my income as an individual will be far greater and i would like to use this deduction to reduce my taxable income as an employee also.

Am i eligible to do thos as i meet the requirement for the instant asset write off as i am a small business entity however i am wanting to apply to deduction to my income as an employee where i am being taxed at 37-45 cents in the dollar.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Best answer

Devotee

Replies 0

@Joshuadavies2 

In addition to the points from @macfanboy you should be mindful of the non-commercial losses rules . If the business activity you have generates a loss and is considered to be a non-commercial loss, then this loss cannot offset your income from other sources (eg. your salary & wages income, interest, dividend etc) but is carried forward to use in later income years.