Announcements
We understand 2020 has been difficult and we're here to try and make it easier during tax time. Search posts, read articles or ask a question.

ATO Community

Tax on foreign income for a temporary resident while I am out of country

Highlighted

Views 208

Replies 3

Hello,

I am a Temporary Resident in Australia (Student Visa - 500) and I earn my income by freelancing for foreign entities, making me a sole trader or self employed. Would the income I receive while I am in my home country (on a vacation, for example) also be taxable? As in, any income I receive to my home country's bank account would also need to be declared and included as a part of my normal Australian income?

From what I understand, the answer to my question is yes. Any income I receive from employment or my self employed freelancing work even when outside of the country is taxable similarly to the income I receive while in Australia. Is that correct? I just wanted to get a confirmation. 

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Best answer

Community Support

Replies 2

Hi @Dragooon 

Thanks for your question.

Whether you need to declare your foreign income depends on whether you’re an Australian resident for tax purposes. Residency for tax purposes is different to residency for immigration purposes.

You can use our Are you a resident? tool to help determine your residency status.

If you’re a resident for tax purposes, you’ll need to declare your foreign income on your tax return.

If you’re not a resident for tax purposes, you’re only taxed on your Australian-sourced income – generally you don’t need to declare your foreign income on your tax return.

Check out foreign income on our website for more information.

Let us know if you have any further questions.

Thanks, NicM

3 REPLIES 3
Highlighted

Best answer

Community Support

Replies 2

Hi @Dragooon 

Thanks for your question.