ATO Community

HELP and Moving Overseas, 183 day rule

Ask a question
Highlighted

I'm new

Views 619

Replies 2

Hi, I left Australia in January 2018 and became a tax resident of Denmark from that date. I was a tax resident of Australia from July 2017 to Jan 2018. I filled out my tax return as advised on the ATO webpages including my Australian income for 2017-2018, and my bank interest accrued up until the date i left. Based on my Australian income I am below the HELP repayment threshold. According to the calculator and info on the ATO webpage I do not need to declare my foreign income for HELP repayments because I was not overseas for 183 days out of the 12 months (I was away for 160 days). Based on my answers in my tax return it did not prompt me to include my foreign income. I am aware that I will need to begin declaring my foreign income for the tax year for HELP repayment purposes for the 2018-19 tax year. My question is whether I have read the rules correctly and do not need to repay any HELP this year based solely on my Australian income? Denmark and Australia have a double tax agreement so I am already paying quite hefty Danish taxes on all my foreign income once I became a non-resident for tax purposes in Jan 2018, including on my australian interest earnings. I have already done my tax return and thought I had done it correctly but was surprised to see no mention of HELP on my NOA. Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Best answer

ATO Certified

Community Support

Replies 0

Hi @shr611,

Thanks for getting in touch!

Generally, if you're a non-resident and don't receive income from Australian sources you don't need to lodge an income tax return. However, as you have a HELP account, you'll be required to report your worldwide income each year.