Announcements
Looking for answers? Search our popular topics or ask a new question.

ATO Community

Re: Can't get the linking code to link ato to mygov

Highlighted

Views 6666

Replies 14

Dialled 13 28 61 number to get a linking code but after I press 1, they asked me for TFN then automated system did find my tax account and then say they can't find a record of lodged returns and asking how did I lodge it. of course I didn't lodge anything yet, because this is my first time. I'm living outside Australia. Does anybody know how to get the linking code of ato to mygov? and what numbers to press? I tried few of them, but didn't get me to a place where I can receive the linking code.

All the options were the following, but it doesn't contain any option to receive the linking code.

progress about the lodgement/ lost super anuation - press 1
apply to refund credit - press 2
arangement to pay - press 3
order forms or publications- press 4

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Most helpful response

ATO Certified Response

Community Support

Replies 13

Hi @Har1000,

Welcome to our Community!

The easiest way to link your myGov account to the ATO is by answering a couple of questions online. You will be asked for two of the following:

• Notice of assessment from the last five years - if you've ever used a tax agent, they may have a copy.
  • PAYG payment summary or income statement from the last two years - this comes from your employer
  • Superannuation account statement from the last five years - these usually arrive in the mail
  • Centrelink payment summary from the last two years - only related to you if you've been involved with Centrelink, but if so you can get this from Services Australia
  • Bank account - this is any bank account you've had your tax refund paid into in previous years, or earned any level of interest in. Even daily 'spendings' accounts can accrue interest.