• 27288 Posts

ATO Community

ABN and tax rate for non residents + Superannuation

Ask a question
Highlighted

Views 146

Replies 1

Hello,

I'm here in a WHV 417 it's my first year and I'll be here for two so I'll be here next July.

If I understand I'm a non resident for the ATO with this visa.

I just found a job where my employer asked me to create an ABN. Does he have to register to sub contract me as I am in a WHV ?

If I understand well, my tax rate will be 32.5% no matter how much I make and there is not a thresold ?

I just wanna be sure for how much i'll need to save for next July and if it is a third of what i make or if there are any ways to reduce the rate.

I'll be working for 3 months for about 1 000$AUD / week so 12 000 $AUD total wich make me save about 3 900 $ for taxe.

Is all that correct ?

For deductions I know I have to keep receipts to deduce the amount of my total income of 12 000$? And then I applied the rate percentage ?

What is deductible ? If I take public transport does it work ?

And for exemple I make my own food for lunch.

Do I keep receipts of grocery store when I shop even If there are other things in the receipt ?

or do I have to make diffrents receipts for food and for the rest ? Do I have to pay all by card ?

I know I have a lots of question but I'm a bit lost and want to do the right thing and things rights.

I also want to understand what is superannuation ? Is it something you earn only when you work under your TFN as I'll probably do later ?

I opened a bank account but i don't see an other saving account do I have to go to the bank to open another account for super ?

I'm counting on you guys hope someone can help me in this jungleMan Happy

Cheers !

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Best answer

TaxTime Support

Replies 0

Hi @JimmyBENHAMOU

Welcome to your first post on our community.