Announcements
Have you sold crypto, shares or property? Our new capital gains tax guide has info about cost bases, calculations & more! Still got questions? Ask the Community!

ATO Community

First time tax return!

Views 123

Replies 3

Hey guys, 

So it's my first time doing my tax return. 

I have a couple of questions regarding inputting PSI income. These might be super obvious so apologies but any help would be massively appreciated! 

1) When it asks main business or professional activity on the 'Business/sole trader, partnership and trust income (including loss details)' do you just find the activity closest to your business? I'm a freelance marketer so the closest I could find was advertising services? 

2) On the same page, 'Number of business activities' does that mean clients I've worked with or individual invoices that have been sent out? 

3) On 'Business income statements and payment summaries' it says Payer and gross payments so would that be the total income from one client (basically all of their invoices added up)? 

Thanks so much again! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Most helpful response

ATO Certified Response

ATO Community Support

Replies 2

Hi @Jadeattwood

1. Here's a handy link to help find the closest business activity. For you it could be advertising services, or I triede "business consultant' in the search box and it returned 69629 Management Advice and Related Consulting Services n.e.c.The description includes 'marketing objectives and polices'. 

2. Number of business activities – This is the number of separate and distinct business activities you operated as a sole trader and in partnership during 2020–21. If you only had one main business activity just enter 1 here.

3. This will depend on the type of PAYG agreement you had setup with your main client(s). Scroll through this page on completing this section for more assistance.

3 REPLIES 3

Most helpful response

ATO Certified Response

ATO Community Support

Replies 2