Announcements
Are you a tax professional needing a bit more time to lodge? Check out how to apply online for a deferral, or ask the Community!

ATO Community

Multi National Savings Plan

Views 914

Replies 3

Hi Im an Australian resident and just been made redundant. I have a savings plan in the USA that I am going to get my money out put it in my bank in Australia will I loose a great portion of it to tax?
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Most helpful response

Devotee

Replies 2

Do you mean tax in the USA or Australia? Also what is a savings plan? Is it like an investment or more like a bank account just with your money in it? If you move just money that you have between bank accounts there is usually no tax as it is assumed that you have already paid tax on that money.  However, if a savings plan earns you extra income, you will be asked to declare those earning on your tax return in Australia (assuming you are a resident of Australia for tax purposes).

If you don't mind sharing a little more info, I would be happy to help.

3 REPLIES 3

Most helpful response

Devotee

Replies 2

Do you mean tax in the USA or Australia? Also what is a savings plan? Is it like an investment or more like a bank account just with your money in it? If you move just money that you have between bank accounts there is usually no tax as it is assumed that you have already paid tax on that money.  However, if a savings plan earns you extra income, you will be asked to declare those earning on your tax return in Australia (assuming you are a resident of Australia for tax purposes).

If you don't mind sharing a little more info, I would be happy to help.

Replies 1