Announcements
Have you sold crypto, shares or property? Our new capital gains tax guide has info about cost bases, calculations & more! Still got questions? Ask the Community!

ATO Community

PLEASE HELP....advice 4 tax return.. working in hospitality and as a com only real estate agent

Views 1015

Replies 5

Hi all, As tax time approaches I’m trying to figure out if I only need to submit an individual tax return or if I have to submit a sole traders as well.

Quick back story:
I work 3 jobs..... My retail and hospitality jobs are wage based. I am also a Real Estate Sales Agent (contracted to an agency)

I have not earned any commission this financial year however I needed to buy a laptop to use ($1505) and renew my salesperson registration ($175ish not including police check) for the sales contractor position and for the 2 months I was being paid a wage to help with the rental department. I also use personal mobile and home Internet for work.

I use the agencies platforms (lockedon/rpdata) , office Internet/printer/supplies however they do not pay me a wage only commission and was asked to set up a company so they could pay commissions by invoice. I have my full Real Estate Licence now and am trading as a contractor under ABN (not company* as its so expensive and OFT told me I did not need a company only ABN) 

I would like to claim back my renewal, phone/Internet and laptop purchases, Can I do this on my individual tax return or do I have to wait until I have earned an income next financial year under my ABN?

Thank you in advance.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Most helpful response

Devotee

Replies 4

There is no "sole trader" tax return, it is all covered on your individual tax return

5 REPLIES 5

Most helpful response

Devotee

Replies 4

There is no "sole trader" tax return, it is all covered on your individual tax return

Replies 3

@MCA_Accountants wrote:

Thank you for your help Smiley Happy