Announcements
Looking for answers? Search our popular topics or ask a new question.

ATO Community

PSI through company - Individual Tax Return question

Highlighted

Views 499

Replies 3

Context:

I have a company that handles my IT contracting business. All income is Personal Services Income (PSI). Just started a few months ago, so this is my first time going through the tax forms required.

PSI rules require that all PSI income earnt via the company, is paid out or attributed to the individual, after eligible deductions.

I've done that via PAYG. I.E. Every month, on a cash basis, I calculate the income earnt, less eligible deductions, and pay out to myself (as employee) the salary, less PAYG withholding and Superannuation.

Tax Return:

For FY20, this means that:

- I (as the individual) have a payment summary amount to fill in question 1 of the individual tax return.

- The company has ended up with a PSI net loss of $22 as an eligible expense came through after I paid out the last salary for the year

- In the individual tax return, question 14, deals with PSI. The answers to this being that I did have PSI income, and did not satisfy any of the exempting tests. Going through question 14 details, results in the net loss of $22 at "P1" of the Business and Professional Items Schedule.

The instructions (https://www.ato.gov.au/Forms/Business-and-professional-items-2020/?page=3#Net_PSI) then talk about going through the rest of question 14 - but these questions appear to be for the sole trader, not PSI earnt via a company route. The text is below:

"If the only income you need to show on your schedule is PSI, you need to complete only:

Questions:

1) Have I filled it correctly? - i.e. Individual tax return question 1 - Salary includes what the company has paid me as an official employee and recorded in the payment salary, and Question 14 / "The Business and Professional Items Schedule for individuals" net PSI of $22 Loss.